22 Ramadan 2015: Respect the Young

A person’s a person no matter how small. – Dr. Seuss

R22

I have already mentioned how my mom’s grandkids miss her so dearly for the beauty she brought into their lives.

In this post I want to expand this thought and note how they miss her so dearly for how she made them feel – respected – and according to my own daughter, it was her:

  • cooking;
  • kindness;
  • ideas;
  • love;
  • hobbies;
  • passion;
  • ways of doing things;
  • flowers; and
  • smell

that made them feel that respect.

These are all aspects her grandkids, all under the age of 8 felt, and what a lovely list.

I bet that if I polled her nieces and nephews, they would probably come up with more or less a similar list, this was who she was.

She cooked for love. Her kindness was overwhelming. Her ideas were unique. Her love was endless. Her hobbies were infectious. Her passion was love. Her ways of doing things were beautiful. Her flowers were a reflection of who she was. Her smell … was mother … grandmother … wife … sister … daughter … niece … aunt … and friend.

May god rest her soul, I will quote one of my friend’s who has a young son who met my mom once who said after her death how she had never met someone who did not get flustered with kids and was so respectful of them.

If doing all these things is what makes the young and youth feel respected, then the formula is not so hard, is it?

My mom taught me …

respect everyone, especially the young, by sharing who you are with them

 

 

Image courtesy of Danilo Rizzuti / freedigitalphotos.net

Comments are closed.

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑