17 Ramadan 2014: Maybe Tomorrow

“How did it get so late so soon? Its night before its afternoon. December is here before its June. My goodness how the time has flewn. How did it get so late so soon?” – Dr. Seuss

R17

Unfortunately, I don’t have an answer or a thought or even an inkling as to what time is. I know what it means to Physicists, and I know what it means to Sociologists, but other than that, I can’t tell you. We all think we do, but all we observe is a sequential series of events, moon changes, aging, or simply, a life story … so time, is a group or series of elements in one’s life that constantly seem to change.

So when we say, time is going so fast, what do we mean? Do we mean that these elements in our lives seem to happen faster? Or do we mean that we have things we want to do in a given period of time that we can’t seem to do? Which one is it?

As I first started to write this entry, I would have said the former, but as I momentarily thought about it, I do think that maybe, it is the latter. It is in the achievement of goals, in comparison to my own expectations, that I can sense if time is fast or slow. I am not talking about big goals, but it could be a simple to do list. On the good days that I do finish what I intend, I start to think about how much time I have. On the challenging days that I do not finish what I intend, I think “gosh, time goes fast! I have no time! Time is shrinking!”

So putting aside the possible illusion of time, the only thing I can do maybe is good planning, realistic goals, and belief in destiny. When I can’t finish something, it is not because time is short or long, it is simply because, I am not ready today … maybe tomorrow.

Image courtesy of Danilo Rizzuti / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Comments are closed.

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑